Would you like some dessert, ma’am?

Image result for picture of creme brulee vegan

“Would you like something for dessert, ma’am?” This is by far, the worst question that I’m asked when I’m eating at a restaurant. Eating out can pose many obstacles for those eating a plant-based vegan diet. One of the most difficult things for me to pass up, in fact probably the only thing I struggle with at times, is dessert. I am a sugar addict and giving up the processed sugars has been my biggest feat.  There are so many limited options for eating plant-based vegan foods in a restaurant to begin with, but there are no restaurants in our area that offer dessert that fits into my diet. Growing up, our evening meal was routinely followed by some sweet comforting dessert usually homemade by mom. I’ve created a habit over the last 40 plus years that has been hard to break. The best trick I have found is carrying a sweet snack option with with me in my purse. One of my favorites…..Trader Joe’s Fruit Bars, but you can always carry some type of fruit, like an apple or plum. At home, I use my frozen bananas to make delicious non-dairy frozen yogurt. When the bananas become too ripe to eat, I peel them and put them in a freezer bag. Then I slip them into the freezer so that they’re ready when I’m craving some ice cream. I have used the Yonanas and the Excelvan dessert makers in the past, but my personal favorite is the Excelvan and I was able to purchase it slightly cheaper than the Yonanas machine on Amazon. Contrary to what people might think, you don’t have to give up dessert. I do try to limit how often I eat sweets thought, even plant-based ones. There certainly are several recipe options on the internet to try. Thanks  to the world wide web, you can search for just about any typical dairy concoction with the word vegan attached and voila…..a vegan variation. I have found several options for non-dairy creme brulee, my absolute favorite dessert. I will share some of those below. As a milk, I typically prefer almond or coconut milk. I try to limit my soy intake just because I have seen some research that suggests too much soy isn’t good for you. Some suggest that there is an association between soy and illnesses like thyroid disease, infertility problems, kidney stones, even cancer and heart disease. I don’t cut out soy completely, but I try to limit my intake to some degree. Thanks to the internet, there is no shortage of many different vegan dessert recipes. I have several cookbooks that also offer many plant-based, vegan options.  I believe I mentioned both of these in one of my previous posts, but my two favorites are the Forks Over Knives Cookbook and The China Study Cookbook. I’ve attached some creme brulee recipes below. I have chosen to talk about creme brulee because it is my absolute favorite dessert.  Most of the recipes that I have found use coconut milk, some type of natural sugar, agar flakes and various spices along with some type of nut butter like cashew butter. I had never heard of agar flakes before. Agar is a seawood gelatin substitute. If you can’t find it at your local grocery store, you can purchase Agar flakes from Amazon. I prefer to make my creme brulee in a shorter ramikin. This ensures that each bite of vanilla bean custard has a piece of the torched crust. Below are some links to recipes for vegan creme brulee. For anybody out there that tries them, please comment on how you liked them, as well as any tips or variations. Enjoy!

Vegan Creme Brulee

Easy & Quick Vegan Crème Brûlée

http://www.foodgeeks.com/recipes/vegan-creme-brulee-147324

Leave a Reply

